Lacto-fermented Roasted-tomato Salsa

Standard

Ingredients:

2 lbs. roma tomatoes (8-10) cut in 1/2

4 large garlic cloves-not peeled, smashed

1 medium onion-thick rings

2 jalapenos-whole

1 small bunch cilantro

2 tbsp. lemon or lime juice

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. ,Mexican oregano

pinch cayenne

1 tbsp. sea salt

4 tbsp. whey

  • Place tomatoes cut side up, along with other veggies on a baking tray.
  • Broil at 500 degrees and check every 5 minutes.
  • Put peppers in a Ziploc to “steam”. Peel skins and remove seeds.
  • Mince all veggies (peel garlic)

Add the rest of the ingredients and put into mason jars.

Leave on counter for 2 days. Eat it up, share with friends, and refrigerate any remaining. Salsa will continue to ferment slowly. It takes on a fizziness which you may like, or you may be calling everyone to the kitchen to help you eat it up.

Note: I do not care for cilantro, so I just leave it out.

Enjoy. It’s one of my favorites!

 

 

About Rita

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

3 responses »

Leave a comment