Say Yay to Gray!

Standard

When we moved six months ago I found myself in a camping situation and dying my hair would prove to be tricky. Disposing of the resulting dye in the rinse water was an issue. It just so happened that a family friend was growing out her gray hair and her boyfriend kept encouraging me to do the same. I wasn’t sure if I was ready and dyed my hair a couple more times anyway. I went with a lighter color than usual, hoping to tame my black locks.

As my hair grew out, the more the strip of brown dye was noticeable and stressing me out! I had a box of black under my sink and decided to streak it in. It worked wonderfully!

If I had to do it all over… I would forget about the brown and just streak in the black to blend the gray out better.

My temples were pretty white.  I realized quickly that pulling my bangs back showed less gray than having the extra strip of white in the part. But I wore a headband across the bang part for a while.

My braids are still black which is kind of cool if I decide to wear a hat and knock off a few years. Lol

I crocheted an extra wide headband to cover everything and I really like it!

Cause the skinny one wasnt covering anything anymore!  Lol

They’re cute tho, right?

So here’s me today….

It’s a journey that’s for sure. An emotional one,  at that.  I’m not even 40 yet. But being stressed about your roots and putting that chemical on your head every 4 to 6 weeks gets really really old. I used to push it as long as I could.  Wear a certain hat or do your hair a certain way or hide at home. Lol just kidding.. please tell me you are not hiding at home because of your hair! I won’t judge…I’ve done it. Far too often. But it has to stop! And with the new trend of everyone wanting to dye their hair grey!? Hello… perfect timing!! And guess what? !! It’s winter…where I live anyway.  Jeez I was going to celebrate hat season with you. Hope you can join in. It’s actually quite exciting! And you’ll save money and the environment and your brain!  Can you even imagine the brain damage?  Jk…won’t go there 🙂

#sayyaytogray

About Rita

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

2 responses »

  1. I’m struggling with that. For years I’ve highlighted my hair and the blonde highlights nicely camouflage the incoming gray, but with her recent move and a lack of extra finances, I really can’t justify spending $100 to get my hair highlighted. So, the gray is coming in without anything to camouflage it. Do I break down and buy a box of six dollar color at the drugstore or let nature take it’s course? I haven’t yet decided. I’m still in the #saynaytogray phase. 😉

    • Ah yes. The ultimate struggle. To dye or not to dye. ..you know the rest. Lol I’ve always done the drugstore dye. I used to highlight at home too. It always turned out nice. It’s worth a shot if you aren’t ready yet. & saving $$ is always good.
      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

