Blender soaked pancakes 

Standard

I know I’m a little too excited about this,  But I’ve never really cared for the traditional pancake. They were just too cake -like for me.  Too soft and fluffy?! Has anyone actually ever made that complaint!?! I always liked waffles better; but not too crunchy. I like that this recipe has a bit of chew to it and its good for you! ! I’m sure it’d be great as waffles too!

These pancakes are made with whole, wheat berries! It seems easy enough to find a heritage organic variety. And since I don’t have a way to grind my own flour; this is awesome!!!


I saw a video done by Stacy @humoroushomemaking. (She blogs about homemaking.) She made the full recipe, including some cooking tips. She sent us over to visit http://www.melskitchencafe.com to find the recipe. The link to the original is HERE. I have gone ahead and tweaked mine with yogurt because I never have buttermilk on hand or the cows milk to make my own. So here is what I’ve done….

In the blender add…

  • 1 cup wheat berries
  • 1 cup yogurt (plain or flavored. Greek or otherwise)

Blend for 3 minutes. Add…

  •  1/2 cup milk (any kind -I used vanilla almond milk)

Blend for 2 more minutes and then add…

  • 2 lrg eggs
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar (any sweetener should work)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/8 cup of melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp ground flax

Blend till smooth.

Fry in oiled skillet as usual. Enjoy

 

About Rita@everevolvingmama

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

Leave a Reply

