What makes a homestead? Who made the rules?

Standard

Whoever said you needed a farm to be homesteader kinda messed me up! I fell into that trap and got hurt.

737'Spot'

When we sold our house, there were bigger dreams involved. After years of “practicing” (complete with goats) on our large lot on the edge of town, it was time to move on in hopes of saving for a bigger venture in a new community. We sold everything and set out in an RV. It wasn’t a year later and we bought an 18 acre piece of land. Just one problem… it was on the other end of the country. If you are following my blog you may have read about that trip. I deleted that post. We didn’t stay out there long, before realizing it was just too far away from friends and family. That was a very unnerving feeling for us. It would have been a daunting task trying to create a yard and build a home from scratch in a place with no jobs to speak of. We moved back to get jobs and continue our search.

 

 

I deleted that post… Perhaps out of embarrassment and a bruised ego. Maybe because I thought I would never have a homestead and it was all starting to feel like a lie. How could I consider myself a homesteader without any land. How could I continue cooking and preserving foods they way I had been, while living in a camper. We were so ready to jump in but terrified of failing. I suppose we chose to eat, so to speak. There were after all, kids to feed. So…

We settled into a four season campground, put the kids on the school bus and both worked. I no longer had the time or energy to bake cookies or bread. And there was no more bulk produce that needed canning. It felt like failure and the death of dream. I remember mourning that death. I was a fraud for blogging about things I used to do and sharing about a dream that would never come to be.

So, fast forward a few years… We are on our third camper and I am following some homesteading pages on Facebook. There is still hope. Everyone is in a different place in their journey. Some people are in apartments doing what they can for now and preparing for their next step toward further self sufficiency. This makes me feel all that more confident in who I am and in the steps I am able to take at this point in the journey, even if it is in a camper.

We have made some changes recently in the right direction. We moved, closer to family, and bought a property this summer. Once again its on the edge of a village. The same size as our old piece but very close to a lake. There are plenty of walking trails through the woods and to the lake. I have been canning more than ever before! This is huge. I’ve been given many boxes of apples, plums, raspberries, squash, tomatoes, and much much more. This community is so inviting and giving.  We’ve certainly been blessed.


We took a leap of faith moving here. We truly didn’t even know if we’d like being in the country but living in town was a strange idea. So we came with open minds and stumbled upon this wooded lot that they almost didn’t even show us. So far… no neighbors! And those trails…right down the street 2 lots over. Mr. Evolving and I have spent some time clearing an old overgrown path and there are more to uncover.  I can hear the boats on the lake from my yard and the kids rode their bikes down for swimming lessons.   I’d say it has worked out wonderfully, so far. I am back on track with the homesteading ways and couldn’t be happier. It’s been a ton of work as this was an untouched lot. Overgrown with trees and uneven ground, we’ve cleared a spot for our camper and gotten in the power(included in the lot fee), internet and septic. We still have to drill a well but hauling water hasn’t been too bad. We brought in some beautiful elk manure/soil and made raised garden beds; mostly in old tires. We worked hard as a family and watched many projects come together.  We even have the opportunity to home school after wanting to for so long. Best thing we’ve ever done, btw!

wp-image-1952188952jpg.jpeg        wp-image-891310455jpg.jpeg

Life can certainly take over at times and make you feel like there’s no way of changing things. I was upset with myself for giving up on the person I knew myself to be. I think the biggest struggle of all is agreeing, as a couple, on… well, everything! How many sacrifices and which ones? There are so many levels of this way of life. I’ve seen couples seperate because of the city vs country life debate. I suppose this unserviced wooded lot is our compromise. There are many things to consider when putting yourself in the middle of nowhere with no neighbors or services or having a true feeling of safety. We feel better informed and more mature when it comes to our decision making now. haha For now, I have resigned myself to the fact that there may never be another goat in my life. Time will tell though. A chunk of land may very well  be in our future. But for now this is Perfect!

We’ve been plotting our secret plans already… I hear Quail are quite interesting to watch!  And eggs would just be an edible byproduct;  right? !  lol For now I will wait while my sauerkraut ferments and the oats soak for morning poridge. I will crochet a new pattern by the wood stove and dream of house plans. I will continue to be grateful for where we are. And learn to appreciate the journey… however long it may have seemed and take pleasure in knowing it isn’t over.

About Rita

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

5 responses »

    • Thank you for your comment. It’s encouraging to see others in all stages of blogging and homesteading. There’s so much to learn from each other. Good luck!

  1. Pingback: It’s that deleted post! | Ever Evolving Mama

  2. Keep up the good work! As with any big life plans I’ve found that it can be a winding road with many twists and turns. Hang in there and keep working, I think that is the true meaning of homesteading…just keep working!
    All the best to you,
    Chad

Leave a Reply

