Wonton Soup 

Standard
Wonton Soup 

I’ve been making this soup for about 5 or 6 years now. A friend insisted I come over so she could show me how.  I wasn’t sure my family would be into this kind of food but it’s always good to expand your knowledge in the kitchen and keep food boredom at bay. SO, we made wontons.


It was a huge hit! And is still a family favorite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We didn’t have any Chinese cabbage this time so I added broccoli and shredded carrots.  

Here is a picture of what I usually use…

WONTON SOUP 

For the wontons…

  1. 1-2 pounds of raw ground pork
  2. Minced water chestnuts (1/3 can)
  3. Minced shrimp (handful) note: I have never used shrimp
  4. 2 minced green onions
  5. 1 tsp. sesame oil
  6. 1 garlic clove (minced)
  7. 1 pkg wonton wrappers

Mix all together really well. Place 1/2-1 tsp of meat mixture on wrapper and close ends together. I just gather corners and pinch tight.

BROTH

Any type of broth is good. I prefer the tetra packs of chicken broth. It gives a nice clean consistent flavor.

Pour 1 carton of broth and about twice as much water into a large pot.

Note: if you use up all the pork and wrappers; you will have a lot of wontons. I have to use both of my large pots with double the broth to cook all wontons. Otherwise I just freeze the extra wontons.

  • Now add salt and pepper to taste. We ran into an older Asian man in the grocery store once and he suggested using white pepper. So if you have that on hand, this is a great time to use it!
  • Add 1 1/2 tsp of sesame oil.
  • Bring to a boil and add chopped suey choy (Chinese cabbage), the rest of the can of water chestnuts(chopped) and the raw shrimp. If using precooked shrimp add them later with the wontons.
  • Cook for 10 minutes
  • Add wontons to boiling broth and cook until they float to the top. (cooking longer will result in soggy falling apart wrappers. and yes the meat is cooked!)
  • Remove from heat and serve as is or  add some chopped green onion and soya sauce to your bowl (we recommend fermented soy sauce. our favorite is kikkoman)

I added some of my “personal experience” notes because we had a lot of questions when first making this. Working with raw pork was new and seemed dangerous somehow. lol My husband is terrified of cross contamination and under cooked meat. (Ive rushed him to the hospital on account of his Bbq mishap involving chicken..food poisoning does not look pleasant! Even got pulled over for that one!)

SO, give this a go and let me know what you think.  You may want to invite people over …it makes a lot! And it’s ALWAYS nice to have extra wonton pinchers!

 

Update: I just made more soup. This time I used beef broth, the recommended cabbage and the frozen wontons. It turned out great. I made sure to cook the frozen wontons a little extra so that there was a good boil and I knew they were cooked.

About Rita@everevolvingmama

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

Leave a Reply

