Whole Wheat Flax Bread

Standard

A FAVORITE AMONG THE MASSES =45% whole wheat.

20161030_164649

This original recipe makes about 70% whole wheat. I decided to make it less; about 45%. This makes for a happy medium for everyone in the house.

My husband often goes for groceries without me. This last time, he brought home traditional yeast. So I add it to the warm water till frothy. I am going to type out the recipe as written, even though I have never added the yeast to flour. So please adjust to suit your preferences.

 

WHOLE WHEAT FLAX BREAD

MAKE 4 LOAVES       BAKE AT 375 FOR 25-30 MINUTES.

Put in large mixing bowl and stir to dissolve:

1/4 cup oil (canola, grapeseed or olive)

3 tsp. salt

1/4 cup sugar (white, brown or honey)

2 cups hot water

Add: 2 cups cold water to cool down mixture

Stir in:

4 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup ground flax

2 tbsp. yeast

Stir in: 2 cups whole wheat flour (this is where I just used white)

Then slowly work in: 3 cups white flour

Dough will be sticky.

Let rise  hour.

Punch down and let rise again.

Punch down and separate into 4 pieces.

Flatten dough into a rectangle and roll up into loaf shape.

Place in bread pan seam side down.

Bake at 375 for 25-30 min.

20161030_174611

 

 

 

 

About Rita

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

Leave a Reply

