Biscuit Pizza Crust

Standard
Biscuit Pizza Crust

I didn’t make a lot of pizzas in the past. I thought the yeast dough seemed like a lot work. I used to be a little afraid of yeast, to be quite honest. I’m not anymore, but this simple recipe remains a favorite around here. It’s so yummy and quick that I don’t even bother with yeast crusts. I’ve made them here and there when I’ve actually planned ahead and had the time but everyone still prefers this crust! So there you have it… why fix something that ain’t broke and is even easier?!

20161030_124025

Biscuit Pizza Crust  -makes one hearty pizza

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 4 tbsp. cold butter
  • 3/4-1 cup buttermilk
  1. Mix all dry ingredients together.
  2. Cut in butter till crumbly.
  3. Stir in buttermilk and knead till well combined.
  4. Press out into pan. Yes, there will be holes. Just fill them in. note: I used a perforated pizza pan with parchment paper for this particular pizza and it baked up really nice. In the past I’ve used a cookie sheet but found it didn’t brown as nice as with the holes. But definitely great no matter what your pan.

20161030_114812

Now load your sauce and toppings. Bake at 450 till golden brown. EAT and ENJOY. mmm. mmm. Good stuff right there!

20161030_122316

see that? crispy crust, oozing sauce, browned cheese…..

This is a meal in and of itself. Very filling. We share this with 3 kids are stuffed by the time it’s gone. And I always forget to make that salad. You know, the one that makes this a healthier meal. haha

 

About Rita

Welcome! I'm glad to share some of what I've learned over the years with you. I try to learn new things often. Being mostly self taught usually means making a lot of mistakes first. In the kitchen this includes, baking with yeast, canning, fermenting, soaking, drying foods, grinding my own flour, making most things homemade, altering recipes to make them healthier, etc. I started sewing more complicated things, learned to knit and then taught the kids. Next was crocheting and then homeschooling. More adventures ahead...

Leave a Reply

